Working Groups

As stated by Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development, formerly MTCU, Subject-Matter Working Group(s) are mandated to provide “more focused and detailed engagement related to specific local labour market issues or subject-matter areas”. The working group structure must include:

  • Industry Engagement: comprised of key industry, labour and community representatives;
  • Service Planning: comprised of key service providers, network representatives and local community advocacy groups; and
  • Intergovernmental/Inter-Ministerial: comprised of representatives from key municipal, provincial and federal government departments and ministries that deliver services in the community.

The Subject Matter Working Groups will share their specific knowledge and insight with the Central Planning Table to inform the broader planning process and the proposed actions brought forth to the ESG. In addition to the groups above, the following two groups are also being formed in Ottawa:

  • Work-Integrated Learning: comprised of secondary and post-secondary education representatives, as well as groups working with apprenticeships.
  • Labour Engagement: Given that past Ottawa feedback suggests labour does not feel fully engaged in the labour market planning process, a separate Labour/Unions group is being established, with a representative also sitting on the Central Planning Table.

The Work-Integrated Learning group was formed in January, while the Labour Engagement group is still under development, with Executive Steering Group member, Sean Mckenny, taking the lead.

In our governance framework we have determined that each Working Group should be comprised of 12 to 15 members; when selecting members, the Guiding Principles need to be considered and the initial term is for the duration of the pilot.