About - Ottawa Employment Hub

About Ottawa Employment Hub


Ottawa Employment Hub is one of 26 workforce planning boards across Ontario, with a mandate to gather and share intelligence on the local labour market and facilitate collaboration on local labour market solutions. As a hub, we connect stakeholders from various sectors to help build an integrated, responsive system that supports economic growth and meets the needs of both workers and employers. We are funded by the Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development.

Since our inception in 2012, we have held different names and delivered several labour market-related projects in the community. We work in collaboration with local service providers to coordinate planning of employment and training services, determine strategic priorities for the Ottawa community, and address local labour market opportunities, gaps and challenges. In our current form, OEH is focused on the dynamic activities included in our mandate. Those activities, and the desired client outcomes, are captured in our credo:


We work with employers, service providers and other stakeholders for mutual learning, leveraging our collective knowledge to connect job seekers to opportunities and employers to strong talent pipelines.


We collaborate as a community to identify opportunities and challenges in the local labour market and determine strategic priorities to improve labour market conditions.

Learn and work

Through our community engagement and planning, we connect learners and job seekers to the programs and services they need to develop industry-relevant, future-ready skills and find good jobs.

Amanda Barresi

Project Manager

As Manager of the Ottawa Employment Hub my goal is to ensure that we provide the most up to date, relevant and useable labour market intelligence while supporting planning through timely reporting, regular community and sector consultation and dependable sharing of information amongst all stakeholders.   With 20 years of experience working directly with employers and job seekers, I bring an in depth awareness to the strengths and challenges that come with the quest of finding employment solutions.  Through effective programming, services and training we can build our workforce and strengthen our local labour market.